Matrox MGA-G200 graphics chip is recorded in the 1998 GPU research cohort under Matrox. The current display name and classification are normalization proposals.
Source product name
MGA-G200
Source model number
MGA-G200
Source manufacturer
Matrox Graphics Inc.
Research scope
high-end graphics; specific boards and release timing not stated
PC Watch identifies Matrox 2D/3D chip and says products/release dates were undisclosed.
Open questions and review
L3 · retain for review
Keep the chip announcement record; concrete products and release dates were undisclosed.
What would resolve it: Dated manufacturer, OEM, board-partner, distributor, or contemporary publication evidence establishing an actual 1998 product or shipment event.
First shipment, board identity/date, manufacturer source.
scope error · follow up
MGA-G200 is an announcement-only record in the frozen evidence; concrete product and release dates were expressly undisclosed.
The contemporary report documents the May 1 announcement but says concrete products and release dates were not disclosed.
Follow-up: Do not accept as a qualifying commercial-shipment candidate without a separate first-availability source.
evidence gap · follow up
Several frozen rows rely on retrospective chronology or contemporary technical reporting without a confirmed first-commercial-shipment record; evidence is insufficient for automatic promotion.
The evidence establishes launch/announcement wording but leaves exact shipment, channel, and regional scope unresolved across multiple rows.
Follow-up: Require human review and targeted primary or contemporary channel corroboration; do not normalize by inference.
Original intake sources
These notes preserve the state at intake. Later verification is shown under Release evidence above; an original note saying verification had not occurred is not the current assessment.
Imported source reference; independent verification has not occurred.
Original research note
Chip identity. Contemporary PC Watch reporting says Matrox announced the MGA-G200 on May 1 and explicitly says board products and release dates were not yet disclosed.